Luminous - ENGLISH

Item number: prices coming soon

Front - Luminous

Back - Lists the luminous mysteries of the rosary in ENGLISH

  • WINE


(The Luminous Mysteries are the public ministries of Christ's life that we meditate on and bring us light:

The Baptism of Christ in the Jordon River . The Wedding at Cana . The Transfiguration . The Proclaimation of the Kingdom . The Institution of the Eucharist )


What are the Mysteries of the Rosary?
Before many people could read, or the printing press came about to print Bibles, some people learned of Scripture through stained glass windows, paintings, statues and imagery. Basically, the rosary was taught by monks to villagers in order to help them repeat and memorize the Psalms by tying knots in rope to help count the Psalms.

Over much time, the rosary has evolved from just memorizing Psalms to encompass meditating on the entire life of Christ.


It has essentially become like carrying the Bible in a beaded compact form based on memorization and meditation of Christ's life.

In October of 2002, Pope John Paul II added the Mysteries of LIGHT to the rosary. 


The Church has used three sets of mysteries for many centuries. When Pope John Paul II proposed the fourth set of mysteries—the Mysteries of Light, or Luminous Mysteries, they complete the life of Jesus Christ-- as the luminous are His public ministries not meditated on the rosary before 2002. 


Why Mary is associated with the Rosary?


The rosary is a meditative form of prayer led by Jesus's Mother, Mary. She always points us to her Son and every aspect of His life which she experienced with Him from birth to the cross.

Sometimes Mary is misunderstood as being worshipped, but in the Catholic faith, she is not. Her posiition is given from the cross as our Mother. "Behold your Mother."  Honor thy mother is a commandment of the Lord, and she is honored by her Son, and blessed among all women.

She only points to her Son This is why she is sometimes referred to in art as the moon that reflects the sun. 

She knows Him like only a mother can know her child and wants us to know Him intimately so we can recognize the power of His blood. She isn't a nice story, or an idea, or a vessel but rather, the NEW ark of the covenant, the Queen of Heaven that had her birthing pains at the foot of the Cross. Her heart was pierced seven times as Jesus's side was pierced ourpouring water and blood, both things that happen at every mother's pregnancy:--''NEW  LIFE".

The rosary is not necessary to pray or meditate with, but is another tool of the Church that can draw us closer to a relationship with Christ, His wisdom, protection and guidance on the road of our Salvation through Him.

Mary is part of the Holy Family. You might look at the rosary as a mother's scrapbook of her Son's life. This is why it is fitting for Mary to reflect this.


The four sets of mysteries might be prayed on the following days: the Joyful Mysteries on Monday and Saturday, the Sorrowful Mysteries on Tuesday and Friday, the Glorious Mysteries on Wednesday and Sunday, and the Luminous Mysteries on Thursday.

The Joyful Mysteries

  1. The Annunciation
    Mary learns that she has been chosen to be the mother of Jesus.
  2. The Visitation
    Mary visits Elizabeth, who tells her that she will always be remembered.
  3. The Nativity
    Jesus is born in a stable in Bethlehem.
  4. The Presentation
    Mary and Joseph take the infant Jesus to the Temple to present him to God.
  5. The Finding of Jesus in the Temple
    Jesus is found in the Temple discussing his faith with the teachers.

The Mysteries of Light (Luminous Mysteries)

  1. The Baptism of Jesus in the River Jordan
    God proclaims that Jesus is his beloved Son.
  2. The Wedding Feast at Cana
    At Mary’s request, Jesus performs his first miracle.
  3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God
    Jesus calls all to conversion and service to the Kingdom.
  4. The Transfiguration of Jesus
    Jesus is revealed in glory to Peter, James, and John.
  5. The Institution of the Eucharist
    Jesus offers his Body and Blood at the Last Supper.

The Sorrowful Mysteries

  1. The Agony in the Garden
    Jesus prays in the Garden of Gethsemane on the night before he dies.
  2. The Scourging at the Pillar
    Jesus is lashed with whips.
  3. The Crowning With Thorns
    Jesus is mocked and crowned with thorns.
  4. The Carrying of the Cross
    Jesus carries the cross that will be used to crucify him.
  5. The Crucifixion
    Jesus is nailed to the cross and dies.

The Glorious Mysteries

  1. The Resurrection
    God the Father raises Jesus from the dead.
  2. The Ascension
    Jesus returns to his Father in heaven.
  3. The Coming of the Holy Spirit
    The Holy Spirit comes to bring new life to the disciples.
  4. The Assumption of Mary
    At the end of her life on earth, Mary is taken body and soul into heaven.
  5. The Coronation of Mary
    Mary is crowned as Queen of Heaven and Earth.